The Wildlife Information Centre

Biological data for south-east and part of central Scotland

Few-flowered Garlic (Allium paradoxus)
 | Home  |  | About Us  |  | News  |  | Recording  |  | Events  |  | Request Data  |  | Support Us  |  | Useful Links  |  | Contact Us  |

Local Experts

The following experts have volunteered to give general advice and help with the identification the following groups of organisms. Please use the contact information below to get in touch with them if you have any particular problems. A stamped, addressed envelope for a response is always appreciated with enquiries by post.




Lower plants and fungi

 
 
Fungi Neville Kilkenny 01620 810417
nev@fungi.co.uk
Shepherd's Cottage, Sheriffside, Haddington, East Lothian, EH41 4PH
 
Lichens Brian Coppins lichensel@btinternet.com
 
Mosses & liverworts (Lothians) David Chamberlain 0131 332 6567 (evening)
d.chamberlain@rbge.org.uk
10 North Park, Edinburgh, EH4 1DP
 
Mosses & liverworts (Berwickshire and Peebleshire) David Long d.long@rbge.org.uk
Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh, 20A Inverleith Row, Edinburgh EH3 5LR
 
Mosses & liverworts (Roxburghshire and Selkirkshire) Rod Corner rod@hawthornhill.net
Hawthorn Hill, 36 Wordsworth street, Penrith, Cumbria
 
Mosses & liverworts (West Perthshire) Julie Smith julie.smith@caledonianconservation.co.uk
07796390846
 
Seaweeds Christine Howson 01875 613256
christine@amisfield1.fsnet.co.uk
 
Smuts & rusts Stefan Helfer 0131 248 2865
s.helfer@rbge.ac.uk
 

Higher plants

 
 
Vascular plants (Edinburgh, Midlothian) Douglas McKean 0131 336 2619
douglasmckean@blueyonder.co.uk

 
Vascular plants (West Lothian) Jackie Muscott 0131 229 1037
jmuscott69@btinternet.com
(1F2) 69 Warrender Park Road, Edinburgh, EH9 1ES
 
Vascular plants (Peeblesshire) Luke Gaskell l.gaskell@homecall.co.uk
Kittyfield Farm, Melrose, TD6 9DG
 
Vascular plants (Berwickshire) Michael Braithwaite 01450 372129
Clarilaw Farmhouse, Hawick, TD9 8PT
 
Vascular plants (East Lothian) Helen Jackson 41f Promenade, Musselburgh, East Lothian, EH21 6JU
 
Vascular Plants (Roxburghshire and Selkirkshire) Rod Corner rod@hawthornhill.net
Hawthorn Hill, 36 Wordsworth Street, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 7QZ
 

Insects

 
 
Alderflies Colin Plant cpauk1@ntlworld.com
14 West Road, Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM23 3QP

 
Alderflies Craig MacAdam info@ephemoptera.org.uk
 
Ants, bees and wasps Andrew Jarman andrew.jarman@blueyonder.co.uk
93 Greenbank Crescent, Edinburgh, EH10 5TB
 
Aquatic bugs Sheila Brooke brooke.aquahet@btopenworld.com
 
Barkflies Keith Alexander https://www.brc.ac.uk/schemes/barkfly/homepage.htm
Barkfly Recording Scheme
 
Beetles Richard Lyszkowski r.lyszkowski@nms.ac.uk
National Museums Collection Centre, Department of Natural History, 242 West Granton Road, Edinburgh, EH5 1JA
 
Butterflies Duncan Davidson 01383 730446 (evening)
duncan@dwwd.freeserve.co.uk
 
Caddisflies Craig Macadam info@ephemeroptera.org.uk
 
Dragonflies Pat Batty 01546 605316
dragonfly.batty@gmail.com
Kirnan Farm, Kilmichael Glen, Lochgilphead, Argyll, PA31 8QL
 
Flies Graham Rotheray g.rotheray@nms.ac.uk
National Museums Collection Centre, 242 West Granton Road, Edinburgh EH5 1JA
 
Grasshoppers Bjorn Beckmann orthoptera@wpo.nerc.ac.uk
 
Heteropteran bugs Bernard Nau Nau.BS@BTInternet.com
 
Lacewings Craig Macadam info@ephemeroptera.org.uk
 
Lacewings Colin Plant cpauk1@ntlworld.com
14 West Road, Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM23 3QP
 
Leafhoppers & Froghoppers Alan Stewart a.j.a.stewart@sussex.ac.uk
 
Mayflies Craig Macadam info@ephemeroptera.org.uk
 
Moths (Berwickshire) Barry Prater barry@prater.myzen.co.uk
 
Moths (East Lothian) Mark Cubitt vc82moths@eastscotland-butterflies.org.uk
 
Moths (Edinburgh, Midlothian) Alastair Sommerville 01501 732715
alastair@biodiversitysolutions.co.uk
 
Moths (Peebleshire) Reuben Singleton 07783 047398
reuben@tweedecology.co.uk
5 Frankscroft, Peebles, EH45 9DX
 
Moths (Selkirkshire) Malcolm Lindsays malcandles46@talktalk.net
Burn House, Mossilee Rd, Galashiels, TD1 1NF
 
Moths (West Lothian) Mark Cubitt vc84moths@eastscotland-butterflies.org.uk
 
Sawflies Guy Knight Guy.Knight@liverpoolmuseums.org.uk
 
Scorpionflies Colin Plant cpauk1@ntlworld.com
14 West Road, Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM23 3QP
 
Scorpionflies Craig MacAdam info@ephemoptera.org.uk
 
Stoneflies Craig Macadam info@ephemeroptera.org.uk
 

Other invertebrates

 
 
Centipedes and millipedes Gordon Corbet 01333 340 634
gordon.corbet345@btinternet.com
 
Freshwater Invertebrates (general) Craig MacAdam info@ephemoptera.org.uk
 
Invertebrates (if unsure of type) Alastair Sommerville 01501 732715
alastair@biodiversitysolutions.co.uk
 
Marine invertebrates Christine Howson 01875 613256
christine@amisfield1.fsnet.co.uk
 
Marine Molluscs Sankurie Pye s.pye@nms.ac.uk
 
Spiders Katty Baird 01620 893642
kattybaird@gmail.com
 
Terrestrial Molluscs Adrian Sumner adriantsumner@btinternet.com
 

Vertebrates

 
 
Amphibians and reptiles Peter Leach 01620 894921
pl.tss@btinternet.com
61 Rhodes Park, North Berwick, East Lothian, EH39 5NA
 
Mammals (general) Andrew Kitchener 0131 247 4240
a.kitchener@nms.ac.uk
 
Mammals (terrestrial) Sarah Underwood sarahunderwood75@hotmail.com
 
Badgers Tricia Alderson aldersett@dsl.pipex.com
 
Bats (Lothians) Nigel Terry 01875 610422
nige_maverick@yahoo.co.uk
 
Birds (Lothians) Stephen Welch 07931 524963
lothianrecorder@the-soc.org.uk
Birds (Scottish Borders) David Parkinson and Martin Moncrieff 01896 822 028 (David) & 01835 822398 (Martin)
bordersrecorder@gmail.com
 
Fish Peter Maitland SavingFish@sky.com
Nether Sunnyside, Haddington, East Lothian, EH41 4NR
 

TWIC is a company limited by guarantee - registered in Scotland No. SC234339. A recognised Scottish Charity SC034113. TWIC acknowledges financial support from Scottish Natural Heritage.